With the new year just around the corner, new labor laws that affect employment and the workplace are set to take place beginning 2019. Below are some of the highlights of those California labor law changes.
- Minimum Wage Increase: Signed on April 4, 2016, by California Governor (at the time) Jerry Brown, the bill will eventually raise the statewide minimum wage to $15 per hour with a six-year phase-in starting on January 1, 2017. In 2019, workers in companies with 25 or fewer employees will have a salary increase of $10.50 to $11 and companies with more than 25 employees, the increase will be from $11 to $12.
- Overtime For Agricultural Workers: Agricultural employees of companies with 26 or more employees will see the first in a series of phased-in overtime charges. Smaller agricultural companies with 25 or fewer employees, will begin phased-in overtime changes in 2022.
- Sexual Harassment: A new law extends the sexual harassment training requirements to companies with at least five employees to one hour for nonsupervisory staff and two hours for supervisory staff to take place every two years.
- Lactation Accommodations: A new law for nursing mothers is scheduled to take effect in 2019 that requires employers to provide a location other than a bathroom for women to express breast milk.
- Gender Representation On Boards Of Directors: The new California law would require publicly held corporations to place at least one female director on its board by December 31, 2019. Depending on the board’s size, up to three female members may be required by the end of 2021.